Confessions of an alcoholic

Confessions of an alcoholic

If you booze you lose, or so they say
I didn’t believe that back in the day
When I was young it seemed so funny
Clubbing together, so we had enough money
Just weekends it started at first
Then in the week to quench my thirst
But as I got older the liquor got stronger
Hangovers began to last much longer
In the end they would last three days
And my memories were a blurry haze
Then one day I hit rock bottom
With self-esteem long forgotten
All that mattered was my next drink
It took to long to make the link
Till finally unable to function
And coming to a life threatening junction
Choose to drink my life away
Or stop and live the proper way
Getting dry was hard to do
I wouldn’t wish that shit on you
With sweats and jolts and a terrible shake
How long would my recovery take
Slowly, slowly, less and less
Now my life is not a mess
It was something I had to do
And now can write this verse for you
It can happen to anyone
I started off just having fun
So be weary of this evil trap
Or you life could end up feeling crap
But for now it’s over anyway
And I live to fight another day
Not every one’s hit by the demon in drink
But when your young you just don’t think
I’m not telling you what to do
This is just my advice to you
Looking through an addicts eyes
Those drunken days have made me wise
Not everyone has to lose, it’s up to you to safely booze.

Leave a Reply

